Course Design for Essential Learning Workshop Series

Each semester, the Brown Center for Faculty Innovation and Excellence offers a multi-part course design (or redesign) workshop series. Come for one, several or all!

Through this engaging, hands-on series of workshops, participants will use backward design to develop innovative courses that …

  • foster transformative learning experiences.
  • engage students with complex questions.
  • use a dilemma, issue or question as an organizational principle.
  • clearly defines learning around Essential Learning Outcomes.
  • includes pedagogical practices and strategies that have high-impact on learning and are inclusive of all learners.
  • uses authentic assessment to measure learning at the source.

<<Register now for Fall 2018 or Spring 2019! >>

Workshop Topics
  1. What’s the Big Idea? – Using Dilemmas, Issues & Questions (DIQs) to engage students through complex questions.
  2. Essential Learning Goals – Write learning goals that are appropriately challenging, foster critical thinking and prepare students for success as global citizens.
  3. High-impact Pedagogies – Develop inclusive assignments and activities that challenge.
  4. Authentic Assessment- Create assessments that reliably measure student learning, promote critical thinking, improve your grading experience.
  5. Reflect & Share – Share your work with your peers.

Fall  Dates

Mondays 1-2:30pm in Brown Center (Elizabeth 110)

  • Mon, Sept 17 – 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • Mon, Oct 8 – 1:00 – 2:30 pm:
  • Mon, Oct 29 – 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • Mon, Nov 12 – 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • Mon, Dec 3 – 1:00 – 2:30 pm

<<Register now for Fall 2018 or Spring 2019! >>

Spring Dates

Fridays 1:15-2:45pm in Hand Art Seminar Room

  • Fri, Jan 18  – 1:15 – 2:45 pm
  • Fri, Feb 8 – 1:15 – 2:45 pm:
  • Fri, Mar 22 – 1:15 – 2:45 pm
  • Fri, Apr 12 – 1:15 – 2:45 pm
  • Fri, Apr 26 – 1:15 – 2:45 pm

<<Register now for Fall 2018 or Spring 2019! >>